Daily Archives: May 6, 2015

Psalm 27 – heaven today

I’ll contemplate his beauty;

fix-your-eyes

Oh yes! One day when my race is run, when I have suffered all, I will eventually escape from this harsh world and the Lord will take me home. There I will spend eternity with Him. Just looking at him all day long.

That might be your thinking but to me there is just so much more. There is this thing called life. No small matter seeing it is what Jesus died for. Life in His presence. Life with Him. Now!

My bible says it is the gift of God that I received when I believed. It is the new creature I became already. Already I am a son of God. All has already happened the moment I received Jesus Christ as my Lord and Saviour. So I am already in heaven. In His presence, seated with Him. Living in His house.

So to see Jesus, to contemplate His beauty is not a joy that awaits us but a reality that already exists. We have the perfect picture of Him revealed in His Word. When you read the Word look for Jesus, His character, His loving, graceful attributes are publically and openly displayed. As you search scripture often you at first miss things as they are overshadowed by Him himself.

Take time this morning to let His beauty amaze you. Be reignited in your love and worship of Him as you are reminded of just how wonderful He is.

But let it not just be what is written that you see. Look around you and see His creation. His beauty reflected. His majesty, His power, His attention to every little detail. It is impossible to sit in any place and not somehow see God in your surroundings.

See Him too in the people around you. Look past who they are, what church they go to. Look for Christ in them. Look at love, look at mercy, look at goodness, look at grace and let them show you Jesus.

Gaze upon Him in the Spirit. As you worship, as you pray, as you meditate allow yourself to be cuaght up in Him. Allow the Spirit to open your eyes that you may see him, sense Him and be intimate with Him.

We live in a world messed up by man. A violent, angry, selfish world which more often than not seems hopeless. It is no wonder people buy the thinking that one day we will go to be with Him. Oh friend. He is with you right now. Take time now to be with Him.

Contemplate His beauty, even now, and watch the world receive hope. Gaze upon Him and you will see the very things that will make the world a better place.

Death is no reward for the living, we have been given life. Life in His presence. Now! Look at Him and love being where you are.